Slight factual error on internet

A correspondent writes:

In the first chapter the gravedigger wonders about the influence of the abbey over the Masons…. is Zurich not totaly Protestant? No abbeys there since the 16th century?

What can I say but: Guilty as charged, m’lud. I’ve never even knowingly been in Switzerland, and pretty all my info is coming off Google Earth and Wikipedia. So, there was an Abbey on the north end of Lindenhof Hill, apparently, until it was demolished following a night of the living dead at the turn of the 19th century. But the idea that it actually was in use – that was just a pure flight of assumption.

I can’t imagine how dumb this all looks to people who know Zurich: but from my perspective, Switzerland, outerspace – all pretty much on a par at this time, captain.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment